Democratic Party of Milton Townhip

Monthly Meeting

May 28, 2020


Meeting Called to Order at 7:30 pm by Chair, Jessica Hierbaum. 

We convened as a Zoom meeting due to the Covid-19 Shelter in Place order.

Officers on the call: Jessica Hierbaum, Chair; Dennis Terdy, Operations Officer; James Rospond, Treasurer; Elizabeth Hooper Outreach Officer; and Nancy Hopkins, Secretary.


Quote: Jessica read the following quote, “Like tiny seeds with potent power to push through ground and become mighty trees, we hold innate reserves of unimaginable strength. We are resilient.”


Welcome: Jessica welcomed the group and thanked them for their flexibility for meeting on Zoom. Members who wish copies of the agenda, minutes, or treasurers report can get them on the DPMT website.


Approval of April Minutes:  Dennis Terdy moved and Larry Pitts seconded to dispense with the reading of the April minutes. The Minutes were approved by acclamation.


Treasurer’s Report: James Rospond, Treasurer

The month of April 2020 ended with a balance of $4,051.00. An email request for small donations netted the renewal of 4 memberships for a total of 85 members. The budget has been adjusted to eliminate projected revenue and expenses for a summer fundraiser that had to be cancelled due to COVID-19. Large and XL size blue polo shirts are available to those who make donations to the DPMT. Website is  


NEW Business:

Operations Updates; Dennis Terdy: Canvassing handouts: 

The Summer Flyer will focus on accomplishments of current Democratic office-holders, Vote By Mail and website addresses for all Democratic candidates on the ballot.  The theme is honesty, openness and science-based policy. The summer door hanger flyer is on track for printing as soon as dates for mail in ballot applications are clear. Pick-up points will be announced.


Outreach Updates; Elizabeth Hooper: Postcard Project for Michigan and Wisconsin with Reed McCollum: 

This is an effort to boost voter turnout in two crucial states in the upcoming election. Volunteers  who wish to participate may request blank cards and addresses in batches of 100 to write messages, stamp and mail the cards. Some assistance for postage may be available from other volunteers. For more information see website:  


Speakers: Dan Hebreard, President of the DuPage Forest Preserve District; followed by Jeff Gahris, Candidate for DuPage Forest Preserve --District 4

Topic: Update on the DuPage Forrest Preserve.


Dan’s slide show indicated that the Preserve hosts 4 Million visitors per year, 1000 volunteers and covers 60 separate areas, including 3 golf courses. Updates include returning 50 acres of wetlands from one golf course to improve flood control. Restrictions due to Covid-19 on parking, golf carts and trout fishing will be lifted 5/29/20.

Jeff who has a master’s degree in environmental development and 12 years as an environmental commissioner, spoke on his goals of increasing solar energy, reducing our carbon footprint and improving nature-trail access. 

Other New Business:

Sheila Rutledge announced that county residents who need food, rent, or other assistance should be directed to call DuPage Community Services 630-407-6500. RE: Vote by Mail Bill SB1863, As soon as it passes people can request a mail-in ballot.  

Next meeting: The Next Milton Democrats Party Meeting: Thursday, June 25 at 7:30pm. The format and location will be provided in the Newsletter at least one week before the meeting. 


Adjournment: Judy Pitts moved to adjourn, seconded by Mike Nachman. Meeting adjourned at 8:28 pm.

Submitted by Nancy Hopkins, Secretary

Paid for by the Democratic Party of Milton Township - PO Box 4564 Wheaton, IL 60189

my business copyright 2000 no animals were harmed in the making